Lessons Learned from Hi5 Story of Doodle Dot Farm

While browsing YouTube for children stories, I came across a storytelling segment of Hi5, a famous children’s show. The story goes like this:

There was a farm called Doodle Dot farm and there lived three farm animals: Hetty the Hen, Rover the Dog and Creamy the Cow. One day, the three animals were arguing over who worked the hardest: Rover said he has the hardest job rounding up sheep. Hetty disagreed and said hers was the hardest as she has to concentrate for a long time to give Farmer Doodle Dot the eggs he was expecting. Creamy said that making milk is the hardest because she has to chew hay all day. They were making much noise that Farmer Doodle Dot came in to check on them. When the farmer left, Hetty had an idea. She suggested that they exchange jobs. Rover will try laying eggs, Creamy will round up the sheep and Hetty will have a go at making milk. The animals agreed and went on to do their new job. Moments later Farmer Doodle Dot went back and was surprised to see the animals jumbled up. He thought he was imagining things so he left to get some rest. Hetty asked Rover if he laid any eggs yet, Rover said he hasn’t despite sitting very still. Hetty said she cannot eat more hay to make milk, either. They both went out to see how Creamy was doing rounding up sheep only to find the cow mooing and the sheep not moving at all. In the end, the three animals all acknowledged that each of their jobs is tough and they all agreed to go back to their original jobs. Later, Farmer Doodle Dot was happy to find the animals back to their own places.

This story may be directed to children but you know what, I realized adults can learn something from it too. These are the lessons I’ve learned:

unique

everyone is unique

  1. I know this may sound cliché but, each of us is unique. Just like in our story, where we have 3 different animals doing different jobs to reach different end results, we live with the same principle. We are our own person, we have different skills and talents and we serve different purposes in life. Recall that our farm animals exchanged their jobs with each other but they realized they cannot do it. There are things only you can do. Other people can try to be you but they cannot be you.comparing wastes time
  2. Comparing wastes time and energy. It is a dragging feeling that will lead you to nothing but self-pity. It distracts you from what you are supposed to do. If our farm animals in the story didn’t argue, the chicken could’ve concentrated more and laid more eggs, the dog would’ve finished rounding the sheep earlier and the cow could’ve chewed more hay and produced more milk.compare behind the scenes
  3. As someone who has spent 6 years in the corporate world, becoming a stay at home mom was a difficult transition. To be honest, I had several episodes of depression and have never felt so insecure in my entire life. Social media even made it worse. Then I came to understand that I should stop comparing my worst days to other people’s best days. It is never a fair comparison, it isn’t taking me anywhere and I needed to get out of this black hole. positive comparison
  4. The truth is, no matter what we do, we are always ahead of some and behind others. The best thing you could do is to invest in yourself. Think of ways on how to be a better version of you every day.

Funny how children stories like this can make an adult learn new things. Have you been comparing yourself before? Or have you been comparing until now? I would love to hear your stories.

signature

Tagged: , , , ,

18 thoughts on “Lessons Learned from Hi5 Story of Doodle Dot Farm

  1. Over Heaven's Hill July 20, 2016 at 12:13 am Reply

    Great lessons! I never thought about listening more to Hi5. If my daughter can learn from it so can I

    Like

    • wifeymommyrn July 20, 2016 at 10:41 am Reply

      Amazing how simple things can make us realize something big, right? Thank for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

  2. Michelle Solee (@michisolee) July 20, 2016 at 1:18 pm Reply

    Sometimes comparing is inevitable especially if you are browsing your FB newsfeed but you can control it. One of my favorite quote “Don’t think that someone else is more blessed than you are. It’s just that we are blessed in different ways. ‘

    Like

  3. Melisa Centino Sanchez July 21, 2016 at 10:56 am Reply

    What a great lesson that to encourage ourselves to do same thing, Specially to others. Every person is created by God according to His will. We have all differences and we should not compare it.

    Like

  4. momsterteacher July 21, 2016 at 4:43 pm Reply

    I remember reading Aesop’s “The Man, The Boy & The Donkey”. Like you, I was struck by the moral lesson of the story.

    This Hi-5 story is very timely, because social media allows us to take a peek into the lives of so many people. Unfortunately, we end up feeling resentful and envious. We keep on asking how come he/she is earning more or savouring in this, while you think you work harder but instead of savouring, you are wallowing. And of all TV shows, you realize the ludicrity of your thoughts via Hi-5. 🙂

    Like

  5. mamaneesnest July 21, 2016 at 7:46 pm Reply

    I love children’s stories nowadays. Everyone can take away a new lesson in life. 🙂

    Like

  6. Liz Aquino July 22, 2016 at 3:09 am Reply

    I love watching Hi5. 🙂 Even my son loves watching it. Once it’s on TV, you can never bother him with anything else. 🙂

    And I agree with all your points. There are times that we can’t help but compare but I think we need to be conscious enough to stop ourselves from continuing it and just, as the song goes, let it go. 🙂

    Like

  7. Nilyn_ECM July 22, 2016 at 6:20 am Reply

    I’ve never watched Hi5 as well as my son. But I’m glad they have nice shows na kapupulutan ng aral ngayon. Sometimes, we just have to be reminded for the things that we already know, kasi minsan, kahit alam natin, nakakalimutan natin, esp life values like these. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  8. Cheanne July 22, 2016 at 4:26 pm Reply

    My kids seems to have outgrown Hi5 already. That was a great story though and all the lessons you got from it are equally good. I think it’s so human nature to compare. I agree with you though, it’s more a waste of time as you will just end up in self pity.

    Like

  9. Maria Teresa Gregorio-Figuerres July 22, 2016 at 5:07 pm Reply

    What a beautiful reminder! It’s futile to compare ourselves with others because we each have our own unique skills and talents that God gave us.

    Like

  10. tweenselmom July 22, 2016 at 9:13 pm Reply

    I love lesson #4. Never ever compare to others because comparing usually causes misery. No one will ever be exactly alike.

    Like

  11. Madz July 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm Reply

    These are great quotes to live by.With all the bullying happening we nned a self esteem boost every now and then.

    Like

  12. Lady Anne Louise Barrun July 24, 2016 at 4:11 am Reply

    That was a great moral lesson not just for kids but for us parents/adult. I used to be very insecure and it makes me compare myself with the other. I guess, we really can’t help that. But when I become a mother, I knew I can’t have this kind of attitude because my son will grow with low self-esteem if I continue this so I learned to appreciate the things I have, work hard to reach my goals and always think positive.

    Like

  13. Fully Housewifed! (@fullyhousewifed) July 25, 2016 at 10:17 am Reply

    I know this story! I read it when I was a child. When we compare ourselves to others, it can really be very discouraging. I think that’s why Facebook causes depression to some people din diba?

    Like

  14. Peachy @ The Peach Kitchen July 25, 2016 at 2:28 pm Reply

    There are times when we can’t help but compare ourselves with others but your post is a great reminder not to.

    Like

  15. Our Eat Dates July 25, 2016 at 7:15 pm Reply

    I love number 4! 🙂
    But I agree with everyone… You can’t control comparing at times! That’s pretty normal though

    Like

  16. Denise Rayala August 11, 2016 at 7:18 am Reply

    So true! Just like what the famous nursery rhyme says – “row YOUR boat”. 🙂

    Like

  17. Louisa Mercado August 22, 2016 at 4:24 pm Reply

    These are great enlightenment quotes. I like the last quote. This is a good way to see how much you’ve grown and surpassed.

    Like

Leave a comment