Not having a nanny at home

I’ve been a stay-at-home mom for nearly 2 years now and I must say motherhood is a very tough job. This is why a lot of my friends were asking why we don’t have a nanny at home. For first time moms like me, the simplest solution for you to be able to juggle household chores, work and your baby is to hire a nanny to look after the baby while you do everything else. I admit, my husband and I were tempted to do this at first, especially during little K’s first months, but later we realized why we don’t need one.

No room for the nanny to sleep. This is one of the major reasons why we were hesitant to hire one in the beginning. Where would the nanny sleep? We live in a studio flat and there was nowhere the nanny could rest in unless she wants to sleep in the sofa, but I can’t allow and I don’t want that. Besides, since we have limited space, we won’t have privacy.

Trust issues. In this day and age, you can’t just trust anybody even if they look like they are the kindest, sweetest person you’ve met. This might make me look judgmental to you. I probably have a mild case of paranoia. Don’t blame me, it’s just that whenever my baby is out of my sight, my imagination runs from wild to extremely wild: Is little K being treated right? Is she being fed on time and the right food? IS SHE STILL AT HOME WHEN I GET BACK FROM WORK? The news we have been seeing lately is one major contributor to this thinking of mine. I prefer to be the one taking care of my child than entrusting her to someone outside my family.

Saves money. Simplest reason. The money saved is used in other things like additional budget for groceries and travel fund.

Exercise. Not to brag or anything but 5 months post pregnancy, my body was already back to its pre-pregnancy state. Having no nanny forced me to cook meals, do the laundry and clean the house while running to check how my child is doing. That “running around” became my exercise until I was actually running around chasing my daughter as soon as she mastered walking.

Fosters family bonding. Being the ones to attend to our child’s needs deepens our relationship with her. We spend more time together, learning and discovering more about each other which make us understand each other better. More importantly, we want to be the ones to witness little K’s milestones first hand.

Of course, these reasons only apply to us. I believe we all have different circumstances which affects our views on this matter.

signature

 

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Not having a nanny at home

  1. Jen June 11, 2016 at 11:16 pm Reply

    What is right for one family may not be for another. I commend you for doing it all for your family! (side note- not all nannies are untrustworthy- but I can understand where you are coming from as I have heard some sad stories that can bring down our profession) also, not all nannies live in- I personally prefer to live out when I work with families. Good luck with everything and I’m glad you are doing what is best for you family 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

